UNIX / Linux: Increment The Date

by on April 26, 2011 · 3 comments· LAST UPDATED April 26, 2011

in

I want to increment the date under UNIX or Linux operating system while writing shell scripts. For example Apr/27/2011 should be incremented as Apr/28/2011 and so on. How do I increment a date in UNIX or Linux shell?

You can display time and date described by format (also known as relative date format) under GNU/date utility which is part of Linux and UNIX like operating systems. The default format is to display current date and time. To display tomorrows date, enter:
$ date
$ date --date="-1 days ago"

Sample outputs:

Wed Apr 27 02:29:59 IST 2011
Thu Apr 28 02:29:34 IST 2011

You can use bash for loop as follows:

 
#!/bin/bash
for i in {1..10}
do
   date --date="-$i days ago"
done
 

Sample outputs:

Thu Apr 28 02:33:02 IST 2011
Fri Apr 29 02:33:02 IST 2011
Sat Apr 30 02:33:02 IST 2011
Sun May  1 02:33:02 IST 2011
Mon May  2 02:33:02 IST 2011
Tue May  3 02:33:02 IST 2011
Wed May  4 02:33:02 IST 2011
Thu May  5 02:33:02 IST 2011
Fri May  6 02:33:02 IST 2011
Sat May  7 02:33:02 IST 2011

Change Date Format To DD/MM/YY

Use the following syntax:
$ date +"%d/%m/%y" --date="-5 days ago"
Here is update code:

#!/bin/bash
# Increment the date in dd/mm/yy format
for i in {1..10}
do
   date +"%d/%m/%y" --date="-$i days ago"
done

Sample outputs:

28/04/11
29/04/11
30/04/11
01/05/11
02/05/11
03/05/11
04/05/11
05/05/11
06/05/11
07/05/11

You can use the same technique in backup scripts to adjust date and time.

See also:

TwitterFacebookGoogle+PDF versionFound an error/typo on this page? Help us!

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

1 ara December 28, 2011 at 11:13 am

date –date=”1 days ago” is a solution i was looking for!
nice one, thanks a lot!!

Reply

2 giovani March 27, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Awesome tip!

Reply

3 sai sandeep August 21, 2013 at 12:40 pm

I am trying to use the above command for incrementing the current date by 1 day but its not working..can you please help me in this.
I am executing this command in Korn shell.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , ,

Previous Faq:

Next Faq: